What is Cricket ?

Cricket is a game played between two teams of 11 players each with bat-and-ball on a field with a centered pitch of 22 yards long. The game is played by 120 million players in many countries, making it the world's second most popular sport.Each team takes its turn to bat, attempting to score runs, while the other team fields. Each turn is known as an innings.

Types of Cricket:

Test Cricket: Test matches between two teams are usually played in a group of matches called a "Test-Series". Matches last up to five days and a series normally consists of three to five matches. Test matches that are not finished within the allotted time are drawn. Major goal of test match is, a team has to bowl balls to opponent team until they are all-out. Both teams play two innings. Whoever scores more and left out with wickets are announced as winners.

Limited Overs: One over is 6 legal bowled balls. In Limited overs, a team bowls limited overs to other team, until fulfilled overs or all 10 wickets taken. First bowling team will bat next to chase score. Limited over format has 20 over (popularly known as T20), 50 over format in international cricket. But local leagues mostly play in 20 over, 40 over games.

How it goes in USA?

USACA is an official Cricket governing body in United States of America. Under USACA umbrella, there are regions which fall under geographical region to cover all states in USA. Each region will have a board, who administers to promote Cricket in their region. Region boards find talent by conducting try-outs, in respective area and put-up a regional team. All regional teams play national tournament, and USACA selection committee peak talent to form national team. In USA U-13, U-15, U-19, Men and Women are regular groups

Leave a Comment